Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

t

Accidental discoveries are a major chunk of all important discoveries that have been made till this day, they maybe accidental but have now been improvised in day to day life. Like, discovery of gravity being one of the major accidents that explained almost all phenomena that exist in mechanics and physics, while it was an accident still it is an important one. So, we can say that, "Accidents in researches and day to day life are the leading cause of new creations and discoveries."

Accidents are always taking place during research experiments, or in day to day life, the outcome and interpretation of these can lead to new discoveries which may be completely off the topic which is being studied about or may help in supporting the work. These discoveries are not always major and ground breaking, but most often most groundbreaking and astonishing discoveries are accidental like discovery of phenomena like magnetism, gravity, electricity, radioactivity and many others. These were discovered by people who had a different outlook than the general masses, which is another factor which contributes to accidental discoveries.

Suppose, a person in working on a project where is wants to find out the terminal velocity of an falling particle under gravity, he will eventually discover facts like that this velocity is independent of the the shape or size of the object. Similar things are also observed in more complex experiments in which, while finding the solution to the main problem, subsidiary problems arise solution of these leads to discoveries of new important things, which sometimes may be huge. Hence, it can be said while seeking answer to one question one can come across something that might be more fundamental and important than the final outcome.

Although, this is not always the case, while working on something researchers might overlook such discoveries deeming them to be not worthy of their time, without actually examining the case. This is a reason why accidental discoveries are so less pronounced these days. People are focused on the major big goal and not on small discoveries which maybe major in some other aspect or walk of life. Which can be arugud upon, but can also strengthen the fact that not all important discoveries are accidental.

Though in the past a lot of discoveries have been made, but the most important of them have been accidental. All works have had discoveries in them which were caused by accident, and later came out to be more important than the original work which they were derived from. Hence one can say that many of the major discoveries are accidents observed by great minds and put forward to this world.