The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People are what make up a society and shape its destiny, they can be called the foundation to the society. As people shape their society they shall also have the right to question the governing authority. This ensures a transparent and smooth way of functioning of the society, where the authority is accountable to the people. So it is necessary that people question the authority in charge of their welfare.

People questioning the authority ensures two things: firstly, it makes the system more accountable for the action it takes, which in turn keeps the authorities power in check. As, taking rash steps may lead to a political unrest in the society. For example, If the authority plans to invest in building a shopping complex in time of a financial setback, people will raise voice over this. Leading the authority to think twice before they carry on with their project. Secondly, when people question the authority it makes them feel connected to the government this creates trust between the authority and the society, which in the long run ensures development of the society and well being of its people.

The input of people in decision making process for their society is fulfilled when they are allowed to question the ruling entity. Questioning the authority promotes critical thinking in the people as they judge what is right and wrong for them. This helps in developing a sharp and smart society who knows more about their welfare. It gives a sense of belonging to the people, as their input i heard and taken into account. When this is not done people may be uninterested in what the ruling power does and with no guidance from it's people the power may wreck havoc in the society, and disturb the natural balance.

So it's very important for the people to question authority as it let's them take part in governing themselves, while making the ruling party more transparent and accountable. While maintaning a power balance in the society. Though all decisions cannot be opinionated upon by the general crowd, like defense tactics or confidential information of the country, but the opinion of general public on everyday matters is a must. As, it promotes free speech and gives a sense of freedom.