To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Ethics and moral standards define a person, a person devoid of such values find it difficult to be accepted into the society and it criticized by his colleagues and even the public. One who maintains high morals and ethics is respected by almost everyone in the modern society where venality is a common characteristic of people in power and position. These qualities don't just earn respect in society but also give peace of mind to the one practicing and possessing them. It can be said that these are the fundamental qualities and modern leader should have.

One is power should i.e. the leader should care about everyone in the society irrespective of their financial and social positions, he should not be compelled by avarice. He should maintain his ethics and moral standards and steer clear of bribery and other ill practices, one who does this can become a true venerated leader. This will help him to be approachable by everyone in the society and enable balance of power between everyone. Leaders with such qualities can really change the society, they can inculcate people with these qualities which they practice.

Leader have to bear great pressure while in office or anywhere they go, one way to relive this pressure is to be transparent, what is a better way to be transparent than to practice ones ethics and morality. This gives the leader peace of mind as he is not scared of whether he will be caught any second for a bribe, extortion or any other sin which may be committed during his time in office, if he has poor ethics. Maintaining high ethical standards hence is not only key for societal development but also for the development of the leader as a person.

One who doesn't preach high morals and ethics can also be caught in troubles and problems, he may be questioned by the media about his actions, or may be caught red handed in a sting carried out by a welfare group. This can reduce the trust of people in the leader and the leading party and can cause a political unrest in the area. He can be disregarded by his own peers in a an discussion due to his actions which may have even tarnished their reputation.

Ethics and morals can build or break a nation, one who understands this is a great follower, but one who preaches these high morals and ethics can be a great leaders. One can give examples of leaders like Nelson Mandela to proof this point. Who carried on the apartheid movement in South Africa against the immoral racial mindset.