The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following text talks about popularity of jazz in in the city of Monroe, and how the author is trying to set up a new business in the city for jazz enthusiast. He needs a loan for this application, but some arguments in the given loan-application are flawed as follows:

It is assumed that a Jazz Music club in the city of Monroe would be high profitable enterprise, without knowing if people really would want to join it. The nearest club being 65 miles away may not be profitable it has been assumed that people want this type of a club in the locality, even if it is profitable it is not clearly portrayed that people in Monroe like Jazz muisc. This argument can be strengthened by taking a survey locally. It has been stated that the local market would be available to the club only, but the existence of such market is not substantially proven about in the loan application, as the number of people visiting the jazz music festival in Monroe may be from outside town. Which gives a false representation of numbers. The radio show 'Jazz Nightly' maybe famous among the town because around 7p.m. it is the only radio frequency broadcasting music and not advertisements, so people tune in for uninterrupted music. Finally the nationwide study is used to strengthen the loan application which doesn't give a clear picture of how much a person in Monroe spends on jazz music, it gives the average of the whole nation. Hence, it cannot be correctly assumed for the town.

To strengthen the arguments in the application the author needs to five substantial proof that there is demand of jazz music in the town of Monroe which is not clearly visible from the current passage. The author can solidify current points by adding survey results about the music likes of people, by trying to collect data about how many locals visited the summer music festival in town. He can ask local record selling stores about the sales of jazz music CDs and DVDs. This way he will have a better chance of securing the loan for C-Note.