The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author here is trying to show how replacement of butter with margarine has not caused any ill effects and decline in demand in the chain Happy Pancakes but has misjudged some aspects, which are as follows:

Butter has been only replaced by margarine in the southwestern part of the country, the stores in these location may just give a false representation of the whole county. People in these parts may prefer margarine butter over in their pancakes, which may not be true for the whole country as a whole, people of the north or east may still like buttered pancakes over margarined pancakes. So, to see a clearer picture of this change the chain can provide options to customers all over the country to have margarine in their delicacy over butter. It can also be said that the customers in southwestern part of the country contribute to only a small percent of the total number of clients, so changing something based on their review may not be accepted by the major audience.

and has seen less impact on customers, doesn't give a clear picture of what kind of impact is being talked about. It can be said that it has had little positive impact on the customer review of the product or it can be stated that most of the people didn't have a problem with bitter being substituted. Hence, this statement is ambiguous, It can be improved by stating the kind of impact or customer review of the replacement. It is assumed that only 98 percent of people have not complained about the change, so are happy about it.Which is an ambitious assumption, it can be argued that they may not just care about the replacement or are busy thinking about other things while having pancakes. A review system can be set up, which will enable proper review of the change.

People may ask for butter, and be served with margarine can cause a huge problem, as someone who may be allergic to margarine can have his pancakes thinking it is made of butter. Which can cause a allergic reaction and lead to even demise if immediate action is not provided to him, this can harm the public relations of the company with the masses and can also lead to legal implications. Coming back, people can surely distinguish between butter and the counterpart, they just may not have enough time to do so while trying to enjoy their morning breakfast.

Although, the company is somewhat doing well in one part of a huge country, it cannot be contrasted to other parts so easily and it will take a lot of effort and time for people to accept margarine over butter, doing so in a deceitful way can cause legal complications and poor public relations. Clearly people distinguish between butter and margarine but are occupied in other things that they do not think it is important enough to care.