Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When it comes to deciding the origin of important discoveries, people's views are ambivalent. Some contend that they happen mostly by chance, often get redirected to another finding; whilst others believe precisely the opposite. As far as I am concerned, I think it is not so easy to classify any creation from this perspective, for it only accounts for some of the discoveries.

To begin with, the urge from any invention incites from the necessity of the same. Scientists always keep exploring the never ending world of knowledge and on the process of this expedition, they get insight about possible solution of different problems. Even most of the times, the great discoveries of the history of human kind were made from scratch and gradually landed in better versions. For example, the invention of computers- all it started from making a device which namd Abacus, that could be able to count. By the lapse of time, through research and development, we get different generations of computers ranging from the size of a huge room to the recent one of 10 inch! Who could ever think of controlling and completing arduous tasks that used to require a couple of days, can be solved in less than 10 minutes now?

Furthermore, many of the inventions of modern science require stringent processes to go step by step . Researchers have to spend hours to solve a specific problem in order to develop newer versions. It can by no means arise from an arbitrary experiment, designed for another process. For instance, the purification of metals from core.

However, we cannot deny the fact that there are many discoveries that were found accidentally by the discover. Who doesn't know the great Christopher Columbus and his journey to reach India where he ultimately ended up discovering America? Or William Rontgen who was working on a different experiment and invented another completely new types of ray that can pass through our bones. That was unknown to everyone and so he named it X-Ray. There are plenty of examples which lead the scientists or observers to a new paradigm from seeking the answer of another question.

In essence, I agree with this statement, as long as it is not taken to the extreme. We have to admit that some discoveries are accidental, but they are just a portion of the whole, huge world of scientific endeavors.