Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The article recommended that by conducting interview-centered method, accurate information can be achieved about child-rearing practices on Tertian island, citing references from two methods previously run on that island. While the argument seems to be quite plausible at the first glance, a closer scrutiny sheds light on a plethora of questions that need to be answered which are crucial for the conclusion to be effective.

To begin with, the article compared two methods: observation centered - that was conducted almost twenty years ago, and the other one, interview-centered, conducted of late. Well, twenty years is a huge gap! A myriad of things can be changed meanwhile including the demography, culture, life-style and perspective of the sample residents observed. It is entirely possible that the actual scenario of children being reared by the entire village, according to the observation of Dr. Field at that time, was true indeed. With the course of twenty years, the mindset of the parents of the village might have been changed and now the children are reared by their biological parents. There can be absolutely no conflict between these two methods.

Furthermore, the data presented lack a depth of detail that would help us to evaluate the significance of the study results. How many people were interviewed and how many are observed? Also, it is very crucial to know that what percentage, (if any) of the sample was common to both of the methods that can actually reflect the change in the rearing style. If it happens that the children those were being observed by Dr. Field, are the parents, namely the subject of the study of Dr. Karp- then the result would be conveying something significant. So, before answering these questions, it is too reckless for the author to conclude that the recent method will act more effectively to gather the correct information.

Last but not the least, it has been mentioned that Dr. Karp visited other islands too excluding the Tertia island and he spent more time interviewing with the children than their parents. As a consequence, his observation should reflect the rearing pattern of the whole group of islands and is not only limited to the Tertia island. So, without segregating the interviews of Tertia island's children exclusively, his generalized result cannot be taken for granted.

While it ultimately be the case that the conclusion is reasonable, we cannot assert it from the argument where it stands now.There are simply too many unexplored variables and the researchers could strengthen the case by answering those.