Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Some may believe that it is pivotal for the major cities to get most of the funds from government allotment to flourish in all aspects. After all, they are the beholder of cultural heritages in most cases. Be that as it may, I presume, that along with the major cities, government should also pay equal, if not more, attention and importance to the other cities to develop. As it is not always the case that traditional and historic sites are situated in major cities alone, and that, it may lead to centralization of some cities while overlooking the rest.

First of all, not necessarily it has to be a major city- the cultural elements of a nation are generated and evolve around different cities, sometimes even in a very small one. In fact, different cities, localities have unique aspects of culture that is best practiced in that particular area. For example, indigenous community of Bangladesh like Chakma, Marma are based on hill tracts zone, in the southeast corner of the country. They are the most ignored part of the country in terms of development, communication and technological advances- ever since. As a consequence, the rich culture of those community is on the verge of extinction. Had the government given more importance to develop that region, they would have thrived.

Secondly, giving more concentration in developing major cities will result in growing a system that is very much centralized. More and more people will be attracted to the newly constructed fascilities and in turn, making it a congested one. Will then the main purpose of embracing and practicing a tradition serve? It would rather fail due to the lack of maintenance in a proper manner.

Moreover, sometimes, the claim must be refuted to save a region as rapid urbanization of major cities will threaten its existing resources. For example, in California, forests like Yosemite and Sierra-Nevada was almost on the way of destruction due to the growing demand of cities in this state. If the devastation kept going, then it would ultimately cause a great threat to its own community, let alone preserving its nature.

In essense, I disagree with the claim of the passage as it does not create substantial good impact in preserving a nations age long culture and heritage. However, clinging too much to the statement will cause to ignore the basic development of any city- which is also not supposed to be. A balanced and planned focus of developing and renovating all cities thorought the nation will help us to preserve our culture.