"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Some people believe that the most important trait of a successful leader is the sense of competitiveness. After all, it drives us to excel in our tasks and gives a continuous motivation to achieve higher shots. Be that as it may, I presume that, the mindset to work together to attain a common goal is much more important than the other one. Be it in the industry or in a governmental position, a leader must possess the quality to assemble everyone's effort to make a sustainable solution. Moreover, without the sense of cooperation, no bigger achievements can be achieved. So, it is important for the society to understand the value of instilling the right sense in their young generation.

First of all, a leader requires to incorporate everyone's effort while pulling off a big task. For example, in industry, for promoting a new product in the market - a company has to work coherently with all of its department, namely design, manufacture, sales and marketing. If one of them wants to hold its stand by competing with the others, it may often make them to stick to their own opinion even if it is wrong and eventually lead them failing to reach to the ultimate goal. When the teams are inter-dependent, the sense of competition stops one to help the other to get rid of a problem. Here, a visionary leader will n ever be un-cooperative as it is a hindrance for the overall system to work efficiently. Rather, he will create an environment, motivate the workers and resolute their conflicts so that they can all work together with the attitude that corresponds to the shared goal.

Secondly, in a bigger scene, for instance, a ruler directing a nation has to be inclusive. In a political arena, different parties have different philosophies and come with different solution to a problem. A leader has to be respectful to all of them and decide the best one without affecting the harmony. But, in this case, a leader who is egoistic, wants to be always in the winning position- can we expect him to chalk out the best decision in the best possible manner? Certainly not. Without having the mentality to respect others opinion, a leader will lead to an autocrat, which in turn, will lead to violence.

Some may argue that the lack of competitiveness hampers the flow of our work and reduces our urge to excel ourselves. But it is, infact, the whole opposite thing. When we want to get in the fast moving position, we run after it by hook or by crook and often discover us back to the square one due to the lack of coordination. Sometimes, a particular task has to be done in a particular order and any deviance from that results in a disaster. Had it been the case, our motivation would have been further deteriorated.

In essence, I believe that not a sense of competition, but that of co-operation makes one a good leader. As the latter allows us to integrate our efforts while the former, sort of, disrupts that to some extent. Also, a leader- a governor, needs to govern a body incorporating every other person, which is impossible to attain in the absence of the motive of working together.