The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

When it comes to choosing the best way to teach someone, people's views are ambivalent. Some contend that we should only focus on the good actions ignoring the bad ones, whilst other suggest precisely the opposite. As far as I am concerned, choosing only one side can never be the best way, for they have their own merits and demerits. It has to be a combination of the both to best educate someone.

To begin with, there is no way to deny the fact that encouragement is a very important aspect for education. By nature, we, the human, like to be praised for our actions and it gives us an incentive to work hard to attain more of it. For instance, when parents praise their children for practicing good habits like speaking the truth and completing task on time- kids get inspired to repeat those kind of action that have brought them accolades. The same thing goes for an employer. However, if the employer overlooks the positive actions of his employee- isn't it very probable for the employee to lose his spirit to deliver a good piece of work? It surely is.

On the other hand, if we continue to ignore the mistakes of someone who is still on his or her learning curve, the consequence will not be so good, either. He might not understand the effects of those mistakes and will be indifferent about it which may in turn, take a toll on others as well. For example, if a teacher ignores a student's offense who has adopted unfair means in the exam, the student will get provoked to do that again and again as it will earn him marks in a much easier way. It also has a far reaching negative influence on other students as well. Nevertheless, we should not solely avoid this trait by ensuring strict, excessive punishments as it can lead one to frustration. If the person who made that mistake, finds it difficult to take it normally and feels adament about not correcting it- that will obviously not serve the purpose.

In essence, I agree with this statement as long as it is not taken to the extreme. There are many shades of gray, however, in choosing the best option for teaching, it is by no means a foregone conclusion that only praising good deeds fused with ignoring bad ones is the best way. Essentially, a good combination of encouragement and punishment can ensure the most effective way of teaching.