Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the number of arctic deer is declining as an effect of global warming citing reference from the local hunters. While the argument seems quite plausible at first glance, a closer scrutiny sheds light on a plethora of further evidances yet to be proved to confirm the causation of the argument.

First of all, the data presented lacks a depth of detail that would help us to evaluate the significance of the study results. It is based on the survey report of the local hunters. Well, how many people were surveyed? What was the margin of error and how was the study conducted? If the study represented a large enough survey group that encompasses hunters from different localities across the Arctic region, then the survey result may be conveying something significant. If, alternatively, only hunters from a specific region were surveyed, then it would not bear any significant observation.

The author appears to believe global warming as the only cause for the decline of the population of Arctic deer. But, there can be other reasons working behind this declination. For example, the availability of their food, the number of predators, hunters, even an outbreak of diseases. As the global temparature is rising, may be, some new varieties of plants start to grow in those areas, resulting in an increase of the source of food for the beers. In such a case, the population of beer could actually increase- opposite of what the reporters seem to believe.

Last but not the least, the report points the inability to migrate into warmer areas as a primary reason for the death of the beers. For this reason to be hold true, the number of dead beers in the colder region needs to be provided as a proof. Also, the total number of beers that are being shot by hunters need to be provided to reveal the whole scenario. Before having these evidences, it is too reckless for the author to assert that they are dying primarily for not being able to migrate.

This litany of unsupported evidances seriously jeopardizes the certainty of the conclusion. While the author's hypothesis is clearly one possibility, more research is needed to eliminate other possibilities and to bolster the strength of the argument. If any of the suppositions contained in the argument proved false, the conclusion would be factually wrong.