The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter, it is proposed that reducing the number of mopeds rented by the Balmer Island's rental companies will result in a reduction of the frequency of accidents. While it is possible that the plan will work as stated, this argument hinges on several other assumptions of dubious currency. Most strikingly, the argument assumes that the collision between the mopeds and pedestrian is a major reason of accident where there may be various other vehicles causing accidents. Also, it is worth questioning whether restricting only the mopeds rented by rental companies would yield the predicted result or not. Furthermore, the argument merely assumes that the same plan will work for Balmer as it worked for Seaville.

To begin with, the letter writer seems too certain about the linear causal relation in between the number of mopeds and accident, but there is no data or survey results as evidence that support the causation. If mopeds is not the major reason of road accidents, then reducing the number of those will not effectively reduce the number of accidents.

Secondly, the writer appears to believe that by restricting the number of mopeds by the rental companies only will reduce the number of accidents. But, he fails to consider the private or public owned mopeds and did not provide any bar on those. If mopeds by rented companies are limited by 50%, but the increased population starts to use it even more, then the plan will not definitely bear any significance.

And finally, the writer takes for granted that the efficacy of the plan will be same for both the cities- Seaville and Balmar, however, in practical, they might be completely different in terms functionality. We do not know the demography, structure of Seaville, the life-style of its citizen could be also different from that of Balmer's. May be the population is far less in Seaville and there are no other means of transportation. These factors play a crucial role in imposing any new plan for a particular city.

While it may ultimately be the case that the plan will reduce the number of accidents in the city of Balmer, we cannot conclude this from the argument where it stands now. There are simply too many unexplored avenues like justifying the causation of accident and limiting private owned mopeds. To strengthen the case, it would be prudent for the researchers to compare and re-evaluate different aspects of the two cities.