People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Almost everything in this universe is changing, there are very few things that remain ever constant. People's behavior is not an exception- I believe. The author claims that it is, by large, shaped by various factors we encounter in our course of life rather than our own choice. Well, I agree with him in this point to a great extent, nevertheless, the fact is not entirely true. Specifically, in some stages of our life, we do modify our behavior as we feel it to be.

Firstly, I believe that age is a very important factor in the context of moulding our action and vision. In an early age, children use to learn everything from what is happening in their surrounding, and thus external factors have a huge impact on developing their behavior. Take, for instance, a child, who is brought up in a joint family, learns to cooperate with others subconsciously. He grows up as a playful child in compare to his other friend, may be, who is not fortunate enough to have a good family. In a broken family where there is a lack of harmony among its members- a child rarely learns the good traits of behavior as he rarely gets exposed to it.

Similarly, in school, students are influenced by their teachers and peers. They try to follow what their seniors are doing or advising them to do as they take it as a qualified norm. Sometimes they get rewarded for doing something great and that motivates him or her to do that again. On the contrary, a punishment keeps one restrained from doing something offensive- and this is how factors like encouragement or punishment play a great role in shaping their behavior, not they themselves are determining it.

However, this is not the case all through our life. When we get matured enough, we start to make decisions on our own whether or not to act in a certain way that may be different from what we have learnt insofar. For example, we all have learned to speak the truth always. But sometimes, situations demand a statement to be modified in a nuanced way and when are living that moment, we re-learn that there are exceptions to our learning.

In essence, I agree with the statement as long as it is not taken to the extreme. Forces do modify our behavior to a large extent but at some point in our life, it is us who actively modify our behavior.