Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Mass media and internet has had a very strong impact on our lives. It is only because of the evolving technology in these fields that carrying out our day-to-day jobs has become so much convenient. The prompt suggests that due to mass media and internet our attention span has been shortened but our ability to access large volume of information has increased. I disagree with this, mainly because of two reasons.

To begin, I do not believe that mass media or internet has had any negative effect on our attention span. There is no solid evidence that proves this point. On the contrary I feel that certain aspects of the mass media actually help us in increasing our concentration levels. For instance, many researches have pointed out that playing video games can actually help us to improve concentration level, and it also helps us in decision making. There are also various puzzles available online which help us to exercise our mental abilities.

Further, I do not believe that people actually learn to sort huge amount of information, because they do not need to do so. The concept of internet is popular because, people can easily find what they are looking for. This method is very efficient and time saving. For example, one of the most popular search engines, 'Google' continuously works to make information readily available. For this certain 'buzz words' are used. The idea is to associate certain words to a web page, which describes it in the best way possible, so when those particular words are searched the most relevant data shows up.

In sum, I believe that mass media and internet have can provide various benefits if used in the right way. It does not have any major negative effects on our attention span, and the information is readily available if a person knows what he or she is looking for.