A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument concludes, that the pet food was not responsible for the symptoms and the company that produced the it need not worry about it. He provides evidence to corroborate his claim including, the chemicals used in the food are approved for use. Though the argument may have merit, but because of lack of evidence, vague terminology and unaddressed assumptions the claim made is presumptuous and unsubstantiated.

To begin, there is no mention of ingredients, other than chemicals in the argument. It might be possible that some other non chemical product used in the pet food is not approved for usage. If this is true, this seriously weakens the argument because then the food produced by the company the the reason for animal's bad health and they need to make changes in their ingredient composition.

Moreover, the source which approved the chemicals is not stated. There is no way to check the qualification of the approving body. The author just assumes that the approving body is legit. If the chemicals are not approved by a trusted organisation, the pet food might contain elements that are not good for the pets. In this case too, the company needs to make certain changes. They need to follow the guidelines by a trusted organisation.

Further, there is also no mention of the time period for which the chemicals used are consumable. If the product is past its expiry date, it doesn't really matter that the chemicals used are approved or not.

In sum, if the assumptions of the argument that used ingredients other than chemicals are approved, the chemicals used are approved by a well trusted institution and ingredients are not outdated, turn out to be false then the argument would loose all its merit.