In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most c

I agree that in some fields of study that imagination plays a vital role in the process of research. In arts and music, imagination is more important than knowledge for composing or creating the masterpieces. However, in the field of natural science, imagination and knowledge are equally important for carrying on promising research. When it comes to social science, people's knowledge and experience are the key determinants of a successful researcher.

Imagination is essential to the arts. The knowledge people learned from school are only the theory or some techniques that already existed for hundreds of years. When it comes to creating works, they shouldn't only based on the previous knowledge. Only relies on the old and conventional theories, one can never make impressive progression in this field. In contrast, imagination can bring about creativity that holds the key to making masterpieces, especially the advance guard ones, including architectures, paintings, music, poems and so on. By injecting their imagination into the products, musicians can create the work reflecting their unique feelings, perspective and understanding of what a good music should be. The famous architectures are usually something people never see or never thought about before, like the Eiffel tower in Paris, the Bird’s Nest of 2008 Beijing Olympic games and so on. These architectures are brought about by the introduction of newly developed style and concepts that are both functional and amazing. Thus, imagination should be value more when it comes to create art, music and architecture.

Imagination and knowledge are equally the same important for natural science. Firstly, scientists need to have a sense of imagination when it comes to interpreting some 'weird' results. By weird, I mean the data or results that are out of people's knowledge and understanding. When people tried to determine the structure of benzene, the reaction data, the molecular weight and the chemical formula all seemed not fit when using the chained structure. No one had ever known there was also cyclic compound structure existed in the world until one brilliant chemist who came up with the cyclic structure that could explain all the phenomenon. Therefore, the imagination to think out of the box is vitally important for natural science. Additionally, basic knowledge can keep people on the reasonable and logical track while thinking out of the box. With knowledge, the things people imagine can become truth and science, instead of delusion.

However, knowledge would be dominating in the research of social science. For example, any decision made by a government should not based solely on imagination, otherwise, it can be impractical and detrimental. Only after considering the current situation of the society and also take the experience and lessons from the other governments and countries can the decision made by the authority be pragmatic and beneficial for the citizens. Also, for people who study law, more work should be put on studying the protocols already existed and applied them, instead of imagining things themselves. Thus, respecting the fact and the experience forms an important in social science.

In conclusion, imagination is more beneficial than knowledge in art, while knowledge is important in social science and natural science.