A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Following a curriculum helps students and teachers in myriad ways. In fact the need for having a curriculum can not be overemphasized. It is a very good idea for a Nation to have a uniform National curriculum.

Firstly, having a uniform curriculum will not only help individual schools in terms of organisation, it would be of great help to the education system of the nation as a whole. In Nigeria for instance, all secondary Schools follow the same curriculum. This ensures organisation of the teacher and student in the sense that lessons to each subject can be easily drafted using any textbook (the publisher of the textbooks would have no choice but to use the same curriculum due to homogenety of the curriculum) such that if a teacher used textbook A for a subject this term but could not use the textbook the following term, he or she would have little or no problem since the textbook B available in market follows the same curriculum.

Also, using a uniform National curriculum would save transfer students the trouble or the need to adjust to new curriculum in his or her new school. For example, student A for one or more reasons get transferred from school Y to school Z. In school Y the topic in the curriculum for the 3rd week of first term is thermodynamics and in school Z which uses an entirely different curriculum has electrochemistry in their curriculum for the same 3rd week. This would surely create problem for student A especially if school Y has already completed all the aspects of electrochemistry since the preceding term. This would surely lead to problems for student A who would have to create extra time for tutorials for electrochemistry or face the consequence of failing the topic.

Furthermore, using the same curriculum eases the tasks of government and schools in conducting national debates and other academic activities. Imagine if different schools were using different curriculums, the organisers of the debate would have to take curricula of each and everyone participating schools into consideration which would be more or less an herculane task for countries especially cosmopolitan nations like USA, China etc

Although having different curricula may grant each and every school the liberty to conduct their own activities which may also encourage effectiveness but this would be at the detriment of the nation's academic system as a whole due to the examples cited above.