Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership

Take for example the former president of Nigeria, Umar Miss Yar'adu though when he was elected as the president, he was a neophite yet he was able to achieve a great fit that was unable to be paralleled by any of his successors even up till date. The main reason for his success lies in the fact that he was surrounded by advisers that are well experienced and grounded in terms of politics. They were able to supply Jim with the history records of the past head of states and governor's which serves encouragement for him and he was also able to learn from their mistakes.

Furthermore, checking the history records of past leaders helps a leader to extrapolate into the future and preclude possibility of failure and also helps to avoid risks since the past leaders must have found themselves in similar situations in one way or the other. So the incumbent leader goes through the record of the past leaders and project about the future from it.

Some people may argue that trying to glean experiences from past leaders can open the door for godfatherism and corruption. Yes this is true but this should not be an issue if the leader is very objective.

From the points listed above, it is clear that the need to gain experience from past leaders can not be overestimated as a factor to success in office for a leader.