Universities should not require students to take courses within their fields only, rather they should allow and encourage them to explore other fields.

Firstly, taking courses in other fields apart from the ones within the course of interests helps to widen the knowledge of students. For example the Obafemi Awolowo University, a Nigerian University mandates students to complete at least 12 units of electives in courses departments unrelated to the student's course of study. As my personal experience as chemistry student in this school, this really helped me in pooling knowledge from fields like Heath science, fishery and other non chemistry related courses, knowledge and exposure of which l might have never had if l had been restricted to chemistry courses alone.

Secondly, taking courses in other fields can add to the work experience of the student. Take for instance a student studying medicine and surgery may decide to take an elective course in mechanical engineering, taking a field trip to mechanical engineering firms; learn the basics of their work record his inferences and then add this experience to his resume.

Additionally, exploring courses in other fields gives one the opportunity to relate with students from various departments, discuss the ideas and free one from the every day jejune one's own department course works because students from about 50 departments could possibly apply for the same elective.

Though some people may argue that taking courses outside one's field can lead to the students not able to focus on their primary purpose of study but the opposite is usually the case because a students that decides to take an elective in physical health education have the opportunity to relieve his or herslf from everyday course work and take causes in gymnastics, athletics etc which has been proved to improve students mentally.