Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Dr. Field concluded based on his observations that the children were being reared by the whole community.

These conclusion is flawed based on the fact that it failed to access the actual condition of the people in the village. Perhaps he conducted his observations in a period in which the village is celebrating a major festival which gives every child the opportunity to dine, chat, and relate intimately with every adult in the village as if they were the children's guardian. He should have conducted a survey along with his observation to know how well related the children were to other members of the village.

Dr. Karp conducted an interview-question method and concluded the children were reared by their biological parents because they mentioned them more than they named other adults. This is a baseless conclusion because it's natural that the biological bond between parents and offspring will naturally trigger a child to mention their parents even if they were not the ones that reared them. This is very possible especially since they were living in the same village. They have access to their parent's house, they can visit them ones in a while and go back to the people that rear them. If this is the case, then the parental bond would trigger the children to mention their biological parents than they do their rearers.

The anthropologists acceptance of the child-interview method because of Dr.Karp's theory is understandable because they thought it brought better result compared to Dr. Karl. But why they failed to consider the time lapse. Dr. Field conducted his observation 20 years ago, so the conditions of the village must have changed and the children 20years ago would have become adult by now. If the interview question system were used twenty years ago, it's possible that different inference would have been drawn.

In taking a particular method as standard, the difference in time frame and condition of the people must be considered. Dr. Karl should have employed observation method, survey method together with his interview question method. Combining the three methods would have yielded a more reliable result.