A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Education is arguably the most important aspect when it comes to determing a country's future. Deciding on a curriculum is a difficult and crucial job that the government and other organizations of each country must take very seriously. The recommendation states that this curriculum should be fixed for all students until they decide to persue college education. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this recommendation for three primary reasons.

Firstly, no matter how homogenous the population of a country is, the students will be inherently different in terms of their interests, talents, capaibilities, etc. And applying the same curriculum to cater to the needs of these different kinds of people is not acceptable. For example, a school, no matter how complete, cannot have programs that can support interests ranging from music to science to niche things like carting. Yes, of course, one might argue the kid needs to enroll in programs separate from school for these interests, but that could burden the child; trying to handle the entire school curriculum and attend other classes is tiring. So, schools that have flexible curriculums are needed to make sure that all the students get to persue the paths they are interested in.

Secondly, there are always going to be students who require special attention and care. To me, the idea applying the same curriculum across all of these students is proposterous. For example, students from certain localities, might not be from a well to do background, and may require some extra introductory topics. While one can make the argument that these extra topics may be taught to everyone, that would be a potential waste of time for the students who are already aquainted with those ideas. Furthermore, specially abled children, like the visual impaired, require a curriculum crafted separately in order to account for their disabilities.

Lastly, not all students try to persue college education. Be it the large tuition fees acting as the barrier or some other reasons, some students choose to skip college education. If the curriculum were same, these students would not get a change to indulge in and explore their interests, at least at the surface level. Maybe by doing so, they may change their mind about not persuing a colllege degree.

It can be said that, if the size of the nation is small and the population is homogenous, the recommendation could be feasible, but that still does not account for the disparate interests the students are inevitably going to have. So, in my opinion, it does not make sense for an entire country to have the exact same curriculum, some flexibilty and diversity are always needed.