An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Nutrition deficiency in an entire nation is indeed a matter of concern and should be addressed. While the method used in the argument does sound plausible there are a number of questions that need to be answered before a mass production and adaptation of this new type of millet can be considered.

While it is clearly mentioned that the newly engineered millet possesses high contents of vitamin A, there is no mention regarding its bio-availability. A bio-availability of a nutrition in a food product is how readily the body can accept and inherit that nutrition. Bio-availability can be affected by a lot of things, including how the food is cooked. So, even if there is high volume of Vitamin A in this new crop, the bio-availability could be very low, rendering it ineffective in curing the deficiency. However, if the vitamin A is readily bio-available in the crop after the usual cooking method, this approach seems feasible.

While this new type does provide an increase in vitamin A content, the contents of other nutrients shouldn't be significant altered, else, there is a possibility of a new kind of deficiency among the people of Tagus.

The increased seed pricing is a topic of concern. Is the government financially ready to subsidize all the farmers willing to grow the newly engineered millet? Are there mechanisms in place to make sure that only the farmers growing this new type of crop get the subsidiaries and are these mechanisms trusted? These are a few questions related to the subsidiaries that need to be answered before promoting the new type of millet.

Additionally, because Millet is a staple food of Tagus, the people there are likely used to it being in a particular way in terms of taste, texture, etc. So, for the people to readily adapt to this new type, the development organization needs to make sure that all the important aspects of the food remain the same while ensuring greater quantities of vitamin A.

If the crop is well tested and all the above questions are addressed, this approach to deal with the lack of vitamin A could prove successful.