The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The personnel director recommends that all of the employees need to take the Speed-Reading course to improve the productivity of the employees. The support presented in favour of this recommendation is that by increasing the reading speed employees will be able to absorb more information thereby becoming more productive. The author also provides several examples that illustrate how this course proved to be an advantage. However the evidences provided are incomplete and the recommendation cannot be implemented until the following questions are answered.

First major question is, "Is reading a part of the employees daily task or are there other methods of information gain available?". The director makes a major assumption that reading is the only source of information gathering available to the employees. It maybe entirely possible that employees use other, perhaps more intuitive sources like graphs, audio, video, etc. to gain information. In fact, most modern companies prefer these forms of information portrayal, because of their superior efficiency that exceeds reading quicker speeds. If they consume more information in form of these alternative sources more than they consume text based information then the recommendation does not hold water at all because then, there is no point in reading quicker, if there is little to no reading.

Secondly the author mentions the examples of "other companies" that were successful in increasing productivity as a result of this course. But this raises another question, "Are the companies used to exemplify the success of the reading course comparable to this company?". There could be a number of factors at play that determined the success of the course at those companies and if these factors do not, at least loosely, match with this company's then these examples are invalidated which weakens the argument. For example, it could be the case that the companies stated are large corporate banks and the current company in question is an advertising agency. It does make sense that the reading course may help banks but companies advertising agencies are more about creativity rather than productvity. Hence, the similarity of these companies needs to be ensured.

Lastly, the author does tell that it is obvious that faster reading is tantamount to faster absorption of information, but is it? Just by reading a text quickly one may miss all the little intricacies involved and hence, miss information, rather than absorb it. Therefore in conclusion, there are a lot of questions that need to be answered before the recommendation can be implemented.