In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

What is the meaning of life? This is one of the many questions that no one on the face of this earth can answer. However, we do know that progress is, indeed, a part of life. So, until we figure out the meaning of life, leaving the world a better place than it was before is the least that can be done. The claim suggests that in order to achieve this progress, a discussion among people with contrasting points of view is required and I strongly agree with the statement, for the following reasons.

Good decision making is an integral part of progress. And, in my opinion, a good decision making process should consider all the possible perspective before even starting to formulate the decision. Only then, maximum possible number of advantages and disadvantages can be elicited, thereby leading to a better decision. There is absolutely no way, that one person, or a group of people with similar views, can evaluate a statement or a decision from all points of view. In fact, one can even go as far as to say that the whole idea of democracy is based on this very principle. Before democracy, there was just one monarch responsible for making all the decision, but democracy makes sure that the ruling party is kept in check by the opposition and that every decision made is in accordance with not only the ruling party but also, the opposition which, in most cases, has contrasting points of view.

Of course, one might argue that it is best to not have a discussion involving people from multiple points of view because it speeds up the decision making process. That just leaves the effectiveness or success of the decision made to pure chance, doesn't it? It is definitely possible that the group did not consider all the ramifications of their decision and simply adhered to it because it seemed best according to their dogmatic point of view. For example, consider a situation where a government needs to build a railway network but in order for it to be built a part of a forest needs to be cut. If there is no discussion between the people who support building the railway network and people against it, the government will just build it without considering the repercussions of cutting down trees. Maybe the railway network isn't in immediate demand and by having a fruitful, healthy discussion, one can come to this conclusion.

In conclusion I strongly agree with the statement presented, a discussion involving people with contrasting opinions is in fact needed to make sure there is progress, else, it may seem like progress at the start but eventually lead to the bigger picture that indicates there is none, which could have been avoided by the discussion.