Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too valuable to be shared freely.

In today's world, data is considered as one of the most valuable resources. People are starting to understand that knowledge is indeed more valuable than the traditional treasures of the world. The given topic illustrates the juxtaposition between the kind of people who think all the information available in several communities should be shared and the type of people who think that some information is simply too valuable to be shared and must be kept a secret. Personally, I do understand both sides of the argument, but I side with the latter.

First, let's look at why it is so important to share important research information to the public. Human beings are social creatures and have been since their inception. People are dependent on each other for various necessities. The entire world, for instance depends on farmers for food, and farmers too, rely on others for essentials like clothing and shelter. This is a proof that no human being can survive alone. Similarly, all the inventions, significant or otherwise, were dependent on discoveries and creations of other. Someone had to figure out that stones can be carved and reshaped so that someone else could invent the wheel. Before a rocket could be created, numerous discoveries like alloys, internal combustion, the physics of gravity had to take place. So, arguably, anything made in todays' world no matter how simple or convolutional, is only possible because someone else, shared the information available before. Can you imagine if Graham Bell had decided to keep the telephone for himself? The internet probably wouldn't exist today!

With that said, there is some information that is indeed too valuable to shared. The "value" here is, perhaps, not monetary. Some information, if grasped by a wrong person with malevolent intentions, can be deleterious. A simple example is the procedure to make an atom bomb. This information, obviously, cannot be made public. It need not even be something as dangerous as an atom bomb, to be too valuable to share. For example, a company called OpenAI, specialising in building products exhibiting artificial intelligence, built a tool that could write paragraphs of text based on just one line of input. To the untrained eye, the text was indistinguishable from human written essays. As the name suggests, one of the principles of OpenAI, is that it shares all the information it has, so that the general public can become aware of all the wonders artificial intelligence has to offer. However, it refrained from sharing the source code for this particular product. The reason simply being that it could be used as a tool to create and spread fake news, easily and quickly. So, yes, the value of some kind of information could be too much to be shared with the public.

If it isn't clear already, I am personally the advocate of sharing as much information as possible while keeping some that could have dangerous impacts, private. For reasons illustrated before, it is crucial that most information be shared to whoever desires it. However, the positive impacts of sharing some data isn't enough to justify the negative repercussions it may have, if fallen into malevolent hands.