Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Leadership is one of the few traits that requires a large number of soft skills to be carefully used together in order to be effective. The passage makes the suggestion that young people should be instilled with cooperation, rather than competition. I mostly disagree with the claim because of a few, simple reasons listed below.

Firstly, I would like to illustrate on why cooperation is indeed one of the more important qualities of not only a good leader but for any person in general. The progress of entire human race is as a result of cooperation. For example, for someone to build a rocket, someone had to first discover properties of alloys, figure out all the physics behind velocity, gravity, etc. Only then, as a result of these countless inventions/discoveries, one can think about building something as complex as a rocket. The main takeaway here is that, no matter what someone does in today's world, be it a simple task like drinking out of a bottle or something complex, it can only be done because of cooperation. Humanity cannot progress if every human has to live for himself or herself. Similar ideas can be applied to leadership in government, industries, etc. Only through cooperation can one achieve optimal results.

However, competition is almost as important as cooperation in any work environment. In fact, one can even go as far as saying that without competition there will be almost no progress in a field. Take the real example of Intel and AMD, the only two companies responsible for manufacturing of desktop and server CPUs. Until 2016, AMD did not have a compelling product in the market, so, Intel dominated the marketed share, therefore could enjoy the privileged of pricing their products as high as possible. But in 2016 AMD came up with a product just as good as Intel's and hence the latter had to not only slash its pricing but also, fast-track their release timeline. Hence, today all the consumers enjoy high performing CPUs, for relatively low prices. This and countless other instances prove that competition is vital for progress.

With that said, fortunately, unlike the passage suggests, competition and cooperation are not mutually exclusive. There is room for both of these in a work-space. In fact, all team sports currently in existence are built around this idea. So, in conclusion, while I do think that cooperation is important, it is also necessary to instill a sense of competition among young people to make them better leaders overall.