The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The business manager is proposing to restore the time previously devoted to weather and local news in order to attract more viewers to avoid losing any more advertising revenues. The evidence he presents to support the proposal is that when the station decreased the broadcast time for weather and local news, the viewers' compaints were mostly regarding this decreased segment. While this proposal may sound plausible, the following additional evidences are needed in order to support the proposal.

Firstly, there is no evidence that the complaints regarding the weather and local news are because of the reduction in length. It could be possible that the viewers are, for instance, unsatisfied with the overall quality of the segment and not the quantity. For example, the weather data provided may be inaccurate or maybe the anchors that cover the local news are biased towards one category of news and ignore the others. In such cases, increasing the length of the segment can prove to be detrimental, instead of alleviating the issue.

Another crucial piece of evidence required is the correlation between the users' complaints and the cancellations of advertising contracts. The author only suggests this proposal assuming that if the viewers' complaints regarding the weather and local news are addressed, it will lead to a halt in the advertising contract cancellations. However, that might not be the case. It could be possible that the advertising agencies have other complaints, maybe, regarding the contents of the late night show itself. Or, perhaps the advertising agencies are having their own problems that have nothing to do with this station's television programs. Unless a clear evidence is presented that can infer the correlation between viewers' complaints and the cancellations, the recommendation cannot proceed.

Also, the author assumes that there if the previous show times are restored, the viewers that had complaint with the changed in the past year will return. It is possible that in this past year, those viewers have found another, perhaps better source of weather and local news and the restoring of previous times will not affect these viewer, thereby maintaining the same viewer count.

Unless all of these evidences can be presented, perhaps with a research study, and these evidences argue in favour of the stated proposal, the proposal cannot be implemented.