The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

In the memo, the director of Super Screen Movie Production Company has proposed to allocate a greater budget for advertising so that the positive movie reviews can reach the public, thereby increasing the viewership count. The evidences presented in support of the recommendation are that there is an increase in the percentage of positive movie reviews while a decrease in viewership. However, these evidences are insufficient and a few questions need to be answered in order for the recommendation to be reasonable.

Firstly, the memo states that there have been less viewers during the past year compared to any of the previous years. However, it does not explicitly state anything regarding the number of viewers for every Super Screen-produced movie released in that year. The reason this is important is because it could be the case that there were less movies released in the past year, hence the total number of viewers naturally decreased, although the number of viewers per movie could have been increased. So, the question that needs to be answered is, "Were same number of movies released in the past year same as all the previous years?"

Another question that needs to be answered is, "Is the typical audience for these movies even interested in movie reviews?". The director assumes the more people know about the positive movie reviews the more viewers there'll be. However, this might not be the case. It is entirely possible that the audience is already aware of the reviews but some other aspect is preventing them from watching the movie(s). Maybe the audience judge the movie themselves by looking at the trailer, previous movies by the cast, etc.

Lastly, the question that needs answering is, "Are the movies whose viewership data is being compared, made for similar number of audiences?". It could be the case that the movie(s) made in the past year were made for a niche audience, which led to an expected decrease in viewership, despite the quality of the movie being good. In this case, advertising and showcasing the positive reviews will not help, because almost all the people interested in the movie have already seen it.

In conclusion, while the directors suggestion does sound plausible on the first glance, the above questions need to be answered for it to be actually reasonable.