A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Implementing a national standardized curriculum prior to college has some pros and contras. For instance, a unified curriculum will surely bring out uniformity in the education system. However, one could argue that a standardized approach will constrain the knowledge that students receive. I consider that having a national curriculum has more advantages, hence, I agree with the recommendation.

To begin with, a national curriculum would provide the same core knowledge to all students. For instance, students from rural areas would possess the same core knowledge to those of big metropolises. Nowadays students living in big cities have more accessibility to higher-level education. Students from rural areas— in contrast— face more challenges in accessing to reliable education. This situation is evident when applying to college due to big-cities students are in advantage compared to their counterparties from rural areas. A standardized curriculum would establish the same set of subjects all student must look at. Hence students from any region would have the same skillsets, knowledge and academic-opportunities. I consider that this situation entails a fair arena for all students.

In addition, the overall effort of evaluating student would be reduced should a national curriculum is implemented. This is, the time and resources invested in evaluating students would be enhanced due to it certainly would be faster to evaluate a pre-defined set of subjects. Educational authorities could use this gained resources in implementing complementary courses to teachers in order for they to improve their mastery of the subjects. Students will be beneficed as well because of having well-prepared mentors.

Nonetheless, as aforementioned above the national curriculum has contras. It is easily arguable that this system limits the freedom of knowledge of students because a pre-defined set of subjects is the only source of knowledge. It also removes choices from students, instead, the educational institutions decide by the student. In fact these are true and are inherent characteristic of a national curriculum. However, it could be somewhat mitigated if in the final years within this system the student had the freedom to choose any subject he or she might be interested. This liberty— just before entering to college— could enhance his or her performance during college. To illustrate, a student interested in an engineering degree might find extremely useful to take some courses in advanced calculus prior entering to college.

To sum up, the implementation of national curriculum has several advantages and disadvantages. The main advantages can be listed as, providing general knowledge for all students, creating a fair scenario for any student who want to enroll into college. It also reduced the overall effort of evaluating students. In contrast, the main disadvantage is that it constrains the knowledge taught to student. I presented a suggestion to solve such issue which slightly modifies the original recommendation of the author but I consider this suggestion enhances the proposal of the author.

Moreover, I presented arguments in favor of the recommendation which I consider overtake the disadvantages arising from the implementation of a national curriculum.