Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that deer population is declining in Canada´s artic regions. To sustain the conclusion the authors provides only one source of information— local hunters— and quotes the trends of global warming as a complementary cause of the steady reduction of deer population. Nonetheless, these arguments are unproven assumption and consequently does not provide sufficient and sustainable evidence that support the conclusion.

Firstly, the information from the reports of the local hunters do not constitute a reliable piece of evidence. While it could be true that local hunters have the leverage of knowing the Canada´s artic regions, this does not imply that their reports are accurate since the author never established the mastery of local hunter about the habitat of deer. These reports could be consider as subjective because they rely on the information from just a group of local hunters. Furthermore, there is no reason to believe that subjective experiences of local hunters reflect the composition of actual deer population. Say, for instance, that warmer regions different of those habited by the aforementioned local hunters do not experience a decline in deer population, or even, there is an increment due to the flourishing of plants regularly eaten by the deers. These contrasting standpoints would definitely not support the claim conclusion. In order to adequately sustain the conclusion the author should have provided more rigorous surveys from different groups not only of local hunter but also scientific experts on the subject such as biologists, ecologists or geologists, to name but a few.

Furthermore, the author cites the global warming as a possible cause of the declining of deer population. This argument does not, straightforward, lead to the author´s conclusion. Indeed, it is widely known that global warming heats the atmosphere and causes, among other, the melting of sea ice. However, the only relationship that the author provides between conclusion and the global warming is that deers might not be able to cross the frozen sea— as they have done it since old times. It is worthy to mention that when species find untoward situations they can reassess their ancient customs in order to preserve their survivorship. In the light of this, the deers might have migrated to other warm regions that does not require crossing by the frozen sea.

In addition, the author does not look further for other reasons causing the declining in deer population. Canada's arctic regions— as a rich oil area— have a developed network of oil industry that threatens, in many cases, the habitant of several species. This is a possible unmentioned reason of the problem. Other plausible explanation could be the upsurge of predators such as bears and wolves.

In conclusion, the author relies on vague elements to support the conclusion. Such elements are unproven facts that the author considers as a plausible assumptions. On the one hand, the author mistakenly associates the effects of global warming with the declining of deer population and also avoids looking into different explanations of the problem. On the other hand, the lack of representativeness and accuracy of the reports of the local hunters is insufficient to adequately derive the conclusion.