Issue - Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement establishes that governments must provide financial support to their major cities in order to cultural traditions to be preserved and generated in such cities. Even though major cities

centralize several of cultural traditions not all of them are embedded within these metropolises. Minor towns have cultural traditions that might not be represented in major cities. As result of this situation, I disagree with author´s claim because minor cities should receive the financial support they need as well.

To begin with, major cities receive more financial support that minor town, but this is because the first concentrate the majority of population, political and economic power and the technological achievements. Say, for instance, big metropolises like New York, London and Mexico centralize the population and the economic areas of their respective countries. These cities certainly need to receive more financial support because of their economic and political importance to the country. Nonetheless, the preservation and generation of cultural traditions might not be a goal of the government due to the high cost of cultural maintenance in big cities. This is, the financial support is not aimed to fulfill these aspects of cultural traditions. One could say that if it is fulfilled, it could be consider as an accessory accomplishment of the government.

Furthermore, the cultural traditions found in the minor towns usually strengthen the national cultural identity. For example, the samurai way-of-living is a national treasure for Japan. This tradition is mostly concentrated in small populated areas of Japan rather than big cities like Tokyo, where the old Japanese traditions are now more diluted due to the melting-pot culture of Tokyo. It is not a surprise that small towns receive less financial support than Japanese metropolises. However, the Japanese cultural traditions are mostly preserved in small towns.

Other remarkable example can be found in the Mexico, where cultural traditions are spread out all around its territory. Historically, the country of Mexico was composed by several pre-Hispanic civilizations located in different areas, the Mexican cultural traditions are composed as well by the traditions of these civilizations. When Mexican major cities were established they left aside a large amount of traditions from several pre-Hispanic civilizations. Nowadays, for economic and political purposes the financial support is heavily inclined to these major cities rather than small cities with more historical cultural traditions.

To sum up, it is beneficial for the government and the society to continue providing the financial support that major cities need. However, if preservation and conservation of cultural traditions is wanted then a detailed budget of the financial support could be allocated to specific programs in major cities dedicated to such task. Moreover, other part of financial support might be distributed— in a major scale— to minor cities.