A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

As a language teacher for the past five years, I have learned this is one of the most debated topic in the current field of education. Honestly, I believe this is a very complicated matter and requires thorough discussion. However, from my own perspective, I hold that although a uniform national curriculum has its own merits, it still owns quite a few disadvantages we need to address and to overcome.

One of the most characteristic strength of implementing a national curriculum is that it is able to orient the general education direction of a nation. A consistent curriculum will provide teachers guidelines what they need to focus on teaching, which will help the educators to clearly set up their goals and objectives, and which in turn, will lead students to develop in an appropriate direction. For instance, China adopts a national curriculum that is used by elementary and secondary education. Because of its strong focus on math, Chinese students have a higher average in terms of their math performance. What is more, if there is a premeditated guideline a teacher can refer to, it will bolster the teacher’s working efficiency. Take myself as an example, when I was teaching under a required curriculum, I did not have to decide what I needed to teach and what materials I could use. However, currently, as a Chinese language teacher in college here in the U.S., I have to come up with my teaching goals and decide on the materials on my own, which I find very time consuming. However, while a national curriculum can provide these convenience to teachers, I believe, there are many disadvantages of employing it.

To begin with, in order to be well-aligned with the pre-selected goals and teaching materials, teachers may tailor their teaching methods to accommodate to these goals. Also, teachers may have to teach some contents that they are not passionate about, and as a result, will be demotivated. What is more, more than often, when there is a national curriculum, teachers usually tend to assess their teaching and their students’ learning outcomes by students’ test results of certain types of exams. A strong focus on test results will misguide teachers and students to concentrate on merely doing well in the tests rather than actually learning. For instance, the one goal of China’s elementary and secondary’ eductors is to prepare students well to pass the national college entrance exam so that students will be able to be admitted to universities. Because of this strong focus on succeed in the entrance exam, both teachers and students are under a lot of stress. Since the students have to learn whatever is listed on the curriculum, their motivation may be curbed.

Therefore, there are many merits of a national curriculum such as that it offers a clear guide and it provides efficiency, we cannot simply ignore the bad that comes with these good. In fact, we need re-evaluate a national curriculum’s role and adjust it to achieve a balance between a clear direction and a free teaching and learning environment.