A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The writer of the issue state that all of the students should be required to study the same national curriculum before entering college. As far as I am concerned, I cannot agree with the same curriculum for all the students before entering college as it is.

Firstly, by entailing such a rule that all of the students should have the same curriculum before entering college, all students are subjected to study the same materials and thus, they do not have the chance to further study various subjects since their material books contain contents limited to a few study fields. Thus, the students will not truly get a chance to find the subject they are interested in and impassioned about. Without finding their subject of interest, they enter college for a subject study they do not truly like. Because the subject they study is not their favorite one, they might find the subject boring and exhausting. Therefore, after a while, they will feel frustrated in studying and they will not show interest in studying anymore. They might even quit college because of this frustration.

Secondly, without broadening the knowledge being taught to students, all of them will acquire similar abilities and skills, as the same material is taught to them. This will lead to choosing a few subjects for studying in the college, and this way, there will a high demand for a few study fields and a low demand for the rest. But as we know, society needs various experts in various skills, not just a huge amount of people being expert in a few domains. Studying the same curriculum will lead to a lack of experts in other skills and experts.

However, this does not mean that there should be a unique material for every student in each school. By means of broadening the knowledge, I mean that schools should offer different curriculums for various study fields, and each student should be able to choose their own favorite one. Also, the student should have the merit of changing their study subject if they feel like their current studies do not satisfy them.

In essence, studying the same curriculum have disadvantages of limiting knowledge of students to only a few subjects, and not finding their truly desired study subject. There should exist a few offered curriculum, each of which covering a field of study, and students should be able to choose their own favorite curriculum.