A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendations and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

Education is one of the most important investments a nation can back. Education and education policy permeates almost all aspects of life, from science and technology to socio-economic issues. With that said, it is important for nations to think about how education, especially K-12 education plans out for their denizens. Although it’s important for there to be a base-line and some sort of centralization on what gets taught in schools, I don’t believe that a nation should enforce the same national curriculum for all its constituents.

First, it’s important to look at what makes up a nation. For example, the United States of America is a nation made up of hundreds of different ethnic groups with different ancestral histories. They live in different parts of the country and have very specific experiences based on their immigrant histories and regional locations. Implementing a national curriculum would mean leaving out certain groups’ experiences and histories. Even for smaller homogeneous nations, with the pull of globalization these countries too have become more mixed with different groups of people. Creating a curriculum that demands students be taught the same thing could highly hinder the different groups of these nations.

Furthermore, studies have shown students are more invested in their learning when it connects to some aspect of their life. In East Los Ángeles, a project called History in a Box, helped elementary school students learn about the vast ethnic groups who live in their city in the past. These children learned about Jewish, Russian, and Mexican immigrants that occupied the same spaces that these children now occupy. From this project, outcomes showed an increase interest in school overall. Therefore, it is important to take into account, when developing curriculum, that demographics and history matter.

Consequently, adopting this type of curriculum would do more harm than good. In fact, something similar was the catalyst of the, No Child Left Behind Initiative, by the Bush Administration. It stipulated that if students could pass these mundane state tests, they would be adeptly prepared for college. However, it negatively affected primarily low-income schools because of its high stakes outcomes. All of sudden, critical thinking, for subjects such as history and literature, were no longer the basis of a teacher’s mission; instead the class focused on memory and regurgitation so that students would pass state tests. And if they didn’t pass those tests, the teacher and the student were penalized. It took away from the subjectivity of teaching, of learning without stressing failure.

Overall, a national curriculum would, in fact, create a set of standards that would put children, teachers, and communities above or below the threshold, which could be dire for those unfortunate to fall below it. Furthermore, it would not be able to encompass ethnic and regional differences, a key aspect in engaging young people in the classroom. Conclusively, nations should think hard about implementing a national curriculum that demands students be taught the same thing.