A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The education should be provided to all the citizens of a country as it is considered as the birth right of a human being. A nation must ensure that all the school-going kids get proper education. However, I cannot agree with the above statement that a government should impose same curriculum all over the country.

First of all, the very purpose of gathering knowledge is, the process must be perpetual and knowledge must be gained from various aspects of life. The students need to know about various things as the foundation or basic of the subjects they are going to study in the future. There are many areas of studies and it is not feasible to teach all of those as the preliminary learning. If the government of a nation makes an uniform method of learning or curriculum then that nation will lag behind in many other areas. Parochial mentality and superstitious believes can be eradicated by proper way of education in different fields. All the students will have a narrow outlook if the curriculum does not vary. Hence it is expected that if there is a chance for implementing various forms of education, then it will be easier for a nation to have all kind of knowledgeable people. For instance, in Japan the students are taught their area of predilection or preference from the very early stage which makes the pupils more erudite.

Furthermore, same curriculum in all over the country will induce reluctance or boredom among the teachers and the students. If same curriculum is applied in every institutions of a country then the faculty members will become indifferent to teach new things to the students and this will affect them in a negative way. Expansion of knowledge and getting expert in one particular field need a vast knowledge about many aspects of our lives. For this very reason, a nation should not allow its institutions to follow the same curriculum.

Finally, every institution is unique and this very uniqueness makes the schools sophisticated in their own ways. A school might be very good for mathematics or for arts or for history. If the teachers and experts get to choose the way a school should provide education to its pupils, then it becomes less difficult for a government to design a uniform curriculum. Moreover, different curriculum like English medium, English version, medium in the mother tongue ( e.g. Japanese curriculum, Hindi medium, Bengali medium) make the decisionmaking process easier for the parents of the students.

On the contrary, some may refute the claims by stating that various form of curriculum will create a hodgepodge situation in a nation. It will be troublesome for the schools to come up with their own curriculum and variety in curriculum will create an imbalance in the nation.

In a nutshell, according to Chinese philosophy, everything has some positive and negative sides. We should be responsible for choosing the right things for us. As illustrated in the write-up, the positive aspects of not imposing same curriculum is higher than the negative ones, I demur that a nation should follow same curriculum.