The following appeared in a memo from the business manager of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The mentioned argument deals with the preference of cheese and possible assumptions from the perceived likings of the customers. Though some of the assumptions might seem plausible at first glance, these are not strong enough to reach into a certain decision.

Firstly, the author of this write up has assumed that the survey which was conducted by the world magazine of cheeses, is applicable for all regions. The writing lacks proper demographic and geographic information gathered by the survey results. The research might have been conducted for different country or different region or might not be the target customers of the cheese stores. Hence, if this was mentioned that the survey was only dedicated for the particular region where the five stores are located then it could be considered fruitful for any business decision. Moreover, the argument has stated that the best selling cheese were the domestic cheeses in the newest stores which means that the findings were from the newest stores only. Maybe the newest stores did not keep the storage of the imported cheese in their store which is the reason of this biased findings. The confusion could have been solved, if the author mentioned that the survey results were attained from the people of that very particular region or an information about the increased percentage in the predilection for domestic cheeses from the previous years or domestic cheeses were best-selling ones in all of the stores in that particular area.

Secondly, the author has assumed that the cost can be reduced only by reducing the inventory of cheeses. Expenses of a company can be reduced by many other factors like reducing the transportation or delivary costs, by reaching economies of scale and so on. thus it will be an imprudent idea to think that only reduction in inventory will result into decrease of the cost which will eventually increase the profits of the company. As earlier I have mentioned that the research findings can be flawed thus it can not be trusted, company will definitely make mistake if they stop storing the imported cheeses. Market is consists of various type of customers and for this very reason they vary in their likings and dislikings. To serve all kinds of customers, the stores should store various type of imported and domestic cheeses.

To conclude, the above mentioned claim could have been considered as a strong and logical statement if the previously incorporated flaws could not be found.