To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Knowledge is something which can be gathered from anywhere and any sources of life. Learning about the various aspects one cannot only depend on the traditional method of studying, rather he or she need to enhance his or her knowledge by studying about different aspects of lives from different sources. To know about the crucial aspects of a society one must learn about its major regions as most of the social phenomena is occurred in the big cities. Hence, I strongly with the given statement that, to have a sound learning about a society one must learn about its important geographic areas.

First of all, most of the people of the country tend to live in the major cities of a society or a country. As many type of people live in the big towns, amalgamation of multi-culture is clearly found in the larger areas. People from different regions, different towns as well as various countries mostly live in the big cities. By living in big areas one can have the facility to learn about different culture which can help one to know more about the society as a whole. Anyone can easily distinguish among different cultures, social norms, morals and values by living in a cosmopolitan city. For instance, if someone wants to learn about the social characteristics of Bangladesh, then he or she do his or her research about its capital, Dhaka city as people from different districts live in this city.

Secondly, most of the festivals of a society is celebrated widely in the capital of a country. Though festive mode can be noticed all over the country in a national festival, the major cities play significant role to carry out the celebrations more perfectly. As it can be inferred that learning about the ways a celebration is done in a society can be co-related with the learning of a society overall, it is fruitful to learn about the major cities. Furthermore, not learning about major cities will result into a huge gap of knowledge about a society.

However, some people might refute earlier explanations by stating that, the minorities will be neglected if the major cities are studied . They might argue that, to gather knowledge about a society in detail one must learn about all the cities of a country. For example, the aboriginals social norms might be neglected.

In a nutshell, to know about a society or a culture one must emphasize on researching about its main areas as multi-cultural people can be easily found there. Thus, by prioritizing the information gathered from the major regions one can easily get an overview of a society.