Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

university level education is the tertiary level of education. An university should have many type of concentrations from where a student can choose his or her prefered area of majoring in a subject. I believe that the university should require their pupils to take courses outside of their own department or concentration for some logical reasons.

Firstly, the university is a place where the knowledge of a student is broadened. The very basic idea of university is, it will enhance the outlook, the perception of a student. universities should prohibit the parochial or provincial mentality in the students' mind. For this reason, the university should require their students to enroll into courses other than their major courses as it will enhance their knowledge. The education is not only for income or making a lot of money, it is also about enlightening one's mind. To be able to lead one's life in a balanced way, one must learn about the basic things of life. For example, a lawyer must be taught about the history of his or her own country or a student of mathematics should be taught about the laws, rules and regulations of his or her country. Because the courses will enhance their knowledge more and more and will help them increase the standard of their living.

Secondly, allowing the students to take various courses will increase the capability of inventing new ideas and novel innovations. Correlation of various subjects and areas have already resulted into many ground-breaking researches. Present world is full og the blessings of modern technology where fusion or amalgamation of various or even discrete subjects or areas are one of the conditions to evolve. if the biologists were not taught about the chemistry then the subject biochemistry would not have been discovered. Moreover, without knowing the foundations of science, mathematics, history, philosophy,law and economics the purpose of education cannot be fulfilled. For example, if the psychologists were not taught the basic biology of a human body then many psychological findings would not have been possible to hold or simply the subject psychobiology would not have been invented.

Finally, a student can have the flexibility to shift from one concentration to another if the stated facility is provided by a university. There are many cases of students where they are being forced to study the subjects that their parents wanted them to study rather than their own passion or enthusiasm to learn about that particular subject. Later on this results into chronic depression and clinical mental illnesses. But if the students have the permission to take courses besides the major courses then they will have a room for feeling refreshed and enthusiased.

However, some people will argue that, this will lead into unnecessary time waste. In adition to this some might also think that it is not economical or simply a waste of time and money. For them university education is only for the career one wants to pursue for which extra courses are not needed.

In a nutshell, education and knowledge must be gathered in order to be enlightened about life. To get rid of superstitions, darkness, fallacious assumptions one must acquire knowledge and seek the lightness of life for which learning various types of subjects is essential.