“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument is about a proposed decision about television programs. The writer has given some statements and based on those he has given a suggestion. Though it might seem that the statements are sufficiently logical to jump on a decision at first glance, by perusing the write-up the flaws are detected and thus depicted below.

Firstly, the author states that the late-night news program has devoted much more time in broadcasting national news and lesser time to weather and local news. The first flaw of this statement is from where he has collected this information it is not mentioned here. It is expected that when we are giving any information we should also incorporate the name of the source of the piece of information because otherwise the information looses its credibility. The information can be gathered from any survey, earlier studies or some reports or findings of statistical data. . Same thing is missing from the second sentence of the write-up. The author has mentioned about increased complaints of viewers which were concerned with about the weather and local news. From where did he gather this information is not mentioned and thus it is not credible.Hence, if the author mentioned that he has gathered this information from a renowned source then it would not seem spurious

Secondly, the author assumes that the complaints from the viewers were for the lessened coverage of the local and weather news. However, what if the complaints were about not broadcasting true reports rather than the lesser amount of time for broadcasting the local or weather news? The author has mentioned that the complains were concerned with the coverage of weather and local news but he has not clearly mentioned about the exact concern. Thus it illogical to think that the complains were for lessening the time for local or weather news.It is also stated that the advertising contracts were canceled by the advertising company but the information is missing regarding the reason of this cancellation. Many things might have happened which has resulted into breaching the contracts. For this reason, it is impudent to take any decision based on the specious information. The author could have strengthened his arguments if he incorporated the exact reasons for the complains from the viewers. Moreover, the author should have stated the true reason for the cancellation of the contracts rather than just stating it.

Thirdly, based on these spurious, illogical and irrational information which is also not backed by any solid source, the business manager has suggested an important decision. To take any decision a manager or leader should focus on every type of possibilities by investigating in a proper way. Business decisons can not be made only from some perceived phenomena. For this reason, it will not be wise to take any decision based on only these information. Hence, the author could have strengthened his point of view by mentioning any survey result or any report.

To conclude, though it seemed plausible to rely on these statements at first, eventually the flaws were identified by reading the passage carefully. The author should follow the suggestions given in each paragraph and take further logical approach to reach on a significant decison like this.