No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Knowledge is something which is achieved throughout our lives and we should never stop the process of learning. The purpose of gathering knowledge is to enhance and broaden this more and more. Any field of study needs proper research and to develop that very particular subject one cannot constrain himself or herself from learning subjects outside of that field. Hence, I strongly agree with the statement that, one needs to learn different subjects from the subject of one's own preference.

First of all, for revolutionary changes one has to learn about many different things. By focusing on one particular subject one must gain knowledge about other relevant subjects. Thus, new ideas and novel innovations are discovered. By this very practice our world is now seeing inexorable technological advancement. If the engineers did not consider to study about biomedical subject, then the subject biomedical engineering would not have been taken into consideration. We can see many inter-deciplinary subjects like, psychobiology, behavioral finance, financial economics, astrobiology, astrophysics and so on which have resulted into many revolutionary changes in our lives. For example, now with the blessing of the subject astrobiology, scientists are searching for any living organism in Mars, then financial analysts are now considering the possible choices a person can make as they are now studying about psychological notions.

Secondly, outlook is widened by gathering more knowledge about different aspects of life. People can be free from parochial mentality and superstitious believe if the learning comes from various subjects. When a person can eradicate all the negative forces from his or her mind, the significant development in the fields of science ,arts and commerce can be seen. The technology savvy people also considers about the commercial aspects to launch a new product in a market, which means that one just cannot be successful or cannot bring about revolutionary progress without ignoring science or business studies. Moreover, to run a business properly one needs to learn about the psychology of the customers which needs the study of arts or social science, otherwise the very cardinal factor of running a business negates the other factors. For instance, if Steve Jobs did not consider about the preferences of the customers of Apple products, then it would have been impossible for him to flourish his business like the way it is now.

However, some people might think that, studying of subjects outside of one's field is nothing but a waste of time. Furthermore, they might consider that one needs to only focus on one subject otherwise it can create distractions in one's mind which can be resulted into failure in inventing ground-breaking innovations. They sometimes consider that doing research about more subjects impedes the ingenuity of a human.

In a nutshell, people need to study more about other subjects to bring about significant changes to the society. To be freed from prejudices and stereotypical beliefs it is inconspicous that one must always strive for broadening one's knowledge and by this notion, revolutionary developments will take place.