The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that, the Seatown University should introduce free-tution policies for its faculty members to increase morale and attract the new professors by giving the evidence of Oceania University. The statement might seem plausible at first glance however, it is flawed in some aspects.

Firstly, the author assumes that, the professor retention is higher in Oceania university when their offsprings are offered free tution fees.The statement seems illogical here as there is no strong evidence to prove this claim that the only factor to increase the job retention of the faculty members is the facilty of full tution waiver of their children. How can we posit that this is the only factor to play a crucial role in the job retention of the professors? there can be several other factors like good work environment, good salary or neighbourhood of that campus which might play cardina roles in the retention of the teachers. Hence, it is an imprudent idea to assume this and take a decision based on this.

Furthermore, the author inferred that, which is true for OCeania university will be true and feasible for seatown university too. This is a significant flaw of this argument because we cannot impose one idea to an different type of scenario. The author lacks in delineating any possible relation between these two universities for which it seems irrational to take a decision based on the result gathered from another institution. Earlier I have mentioned that the assumption about the relation between job retention and full-free studentship of their progenies is not authentic, thus it is flawed from the very intial part of the argument. If the author mentioned that, 50% job retention has been increased after providing free education to the children of the professors in Seatown university, then the flaw of this argument could have been ignored.

Finally, the author assumes that if seatown university starts to provide eduction without any payment to the children of its faculty members, morale will be enhanced among the professors and new professors will be attracted more. The morale of a person is not related with a particular facility he has been provided from his workplace and if there was any relation between these two things the author should have incorporated that in this write up. Moreover, there is no clear indication about the preferences of the upcoming or prospective professor, no statement that might show that most of the future professors are looking for a university where their offsprings will be provided with free education. Many of the professors might not have any children at all which weakens the statement of the authors. This point could have been considered as a logical one if it was mentioned that the future faculty members are enthusiastic about teaching at an institution where there children will get facilities to study without any fees.

To recapitulate, I can concede with the proposed decision of the author if the above mentioned flawed are corrected as it is not prudent to take a decision based on the authors claims which is illogical.