A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A curriculum is a set of subjects that a student has to tackle throughout his or her educational life. Setting up a specific syllabus for the entire nation is, in my mind, not a brainy decision. Every part of a nation has its own culture, traditions and beliefs. Moreover, language is also different in the different parts of the nation. Based on these two points, my opinion is that the curriculum should not be the same across the whole nation.

Firstly, talking about the different traditions and cultures prevailing in the different parts of the same nation, it would be a daunting task to design a syllabus which encompasses the varieties in this respect. Teaching about the local traditions is also an integral part of the educational institutions. India, for example, is a country of multiple religions and faiths. In the north of India people follow completely different faith than the population of south India. So, having a national curriculum means to incorporate the different styles and cultures of the two halves of the country as well. Since the difference is so large, teaching both of them is quite impossible. Forcing them on students will yield no better result. Keeping this in mind an national syllabus is probably not a good idea.

Secondly, the language spoken across the same nation can also be different. Again, considering India as an example, to follow the same syllabus means to teach a common language. While the incumbent government did try to fix this issue, it was met with heavy criticism so the idea was dropped. With changing traditions, cultures and languages while travelling within the same nation, to have a national curriculum which appeals to every part of the country has a bleak chance.

In conclusion, keeping the above points in mind, it is really difficult to come up with a single idea or curriculum or syllabus which would appeal to every person in the nation. While some would argue that having a single curriculum would increase the harmony among the different states, forcing it on them would mean nothing but failure.