The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with the honest assessment.

To say that the talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations is not true in my opinion. There are many late great musicians now whose music and songs are still as popular as they were when they were alive. For example, Michael Jackson who is widely considered as the king of pop was laden with controversies both when he was alive and even after his death. Yet his compositions are still regarded as masterpieces by some and treated with disdain even when his fame is long gone with him. So even after his death his popularity is still split. There are many reasons why the fame of musicians or any other artists for that matter does not interfere with the assessment of their work.

Social media is one of the key reasons why even the most popular musicians of current generation sometimes have to face harsh critisism and backlash for media and the dans alike. Whenever any artist does anything, whether good or bad, their deed is posted by someone on the social media websites like Facebook or Twitter. So, if any popular musician carries out a gaffe it is immediately spread throughout the world through the means of social media. This has a huge impact on the musicians work.

Another important factor is that now a days ordinary people are the critics. Whenever a new song is launched anyone and everyone can listen to it on their phone. So, now they can immediately express their views on that particular song on the internet. These reviews on websites like Youtube and various social media websites can make or break the new album or song and the musician or the artist.

Regardless of how popular the musician is, their performance is no longer dependent on their fame but it depends on their work and how much effort they put into their work. So to say that an honest assessment is only possible posthumously is erroneous.