A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The statement would have been apt if the said nation is small and have less diversity and even then following the same national curriculum throughout the student's school life would skew the knowledge base. The students should be given the option of what to study when they enter into their teenage years. It is during this stage of life that many students starts to decide what do they want to do in their life. If the nation follows a rigid course plan throughout the nation, it would take away the freedom of the students what to study. It can be argued that following the same curriculum would take away the stress of not needing to choose which course to take early in the life of a student but it neccessary for the students to take some decisions early in the life which would prepare and make improve the decision making capabilities which are important in ones life.

If a nation like United States, India or any vast countries tries to implement such curriculum, it would be difficult to come up to consensus regarding what should be taught because of the diversity which these countries bring. A student belonging to southern part of the country needs to be taught the culture and the language (in case of India where each state have their own language) pertaining to that part instead of being taught what the nation decides. Also the government will enforce their will on the curriculum and try to mould their mind. If more options are given to the parents, they can decide which curriculum would suit their children the most. Having to follow just one curriculum throughout the nation would leave the children with no choice.

Before entering the college, the students need to be prepared how to make important decisions, this would be arduous if they are not used to making decisions at a young age. In India each state have their own curriculum. There would be a huge issue in deciding what should be taught as each state would come up with their own suggestions and coming to a common consensus would be very difficult. Also if government is behind the decision to come up with the curriculum, then there each time the government changes, the respective party would have the power to change the curriculum where they would try to show them in good light and try to further their propaganda. This does happen in many dictatorial countries. If there are more than one curriculum, then the students and their parents can decide which one to follow.

Therefore, although following just one curriculum would do away with confusion among students, giving them more options would bring flexibility to the education of theyoung minds of the nation. Forcing them to follow one particular curriculum might bring inflexibility and unpreparedness, which would ultimately affect the students life.