Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The statement mentions that the time given to national news in the late night hours was more than the time devoted to local and weather news. This new schedule has been followed from the past year. To conclude that this is the reason why the advertisers are cancelling their contracts would be precipitous. One year is too short a timescale to completely revamp the news schedule. The business manager of the television station need to give some more time for the new schedule to take place before taking the hasty decisions of changing the schedule again. Also changing the schedule within one year might also bring some doubt in the minds of the advertisers and the producers of the television station. It would show that the manager is too capricious and not at all clear headed.

The reason the local business stopped advertising contracts may also be because of business revenues falling down. Also is there any guarantee that devoting more time to the local business news would bring back the local business advertisers to renew their contracts. What if on devoting less time to national news, the national business rescinds their advertising contracts with the television station? This would spell doom to the television station as the national business are usually more industrious than their local counterpart. Taking such quick decisions over data collected over such a short timespan would be seen as incompetence by the producers. Such regular changes to the news broadcast schedules might also put off the viewers and bring doubt in the minds of the existing advertisers.

Hence, it is imperative that more time is given to the national news and weather, look for more signs of revenue generated over the next few years. If the pattern continues, that is, the local business advertisers are pulling out of their contracts, only then a decision regarding the scheduling needs to be taken. A stable business model always brings more confidence to the advertisers than an unstable one.