The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The marketing department's report regarding fewer people attending Super Screen-produced movies than any other year need to be taken seriously. Also the fact that the percentage of positive reviews actually increased is proof of the fact that the quality of the movies are not the issue. A movie needs to be marketed in this age when technology is on a inexorable rise. All movies having a dedicated marketing team behind them have always gone on to become a box-office success. Even movies which are criticised by well known critics have gone on to rake in billions of dollars because of the marketing departments.

In this age of technology, it's easier to reach the audience. Social media has made it very easy for marketing products. The operating cost would not affect much as it doesn't cost a lot to market with social media doing everything in spreading the good news by word of mouth alone. Lack of awareness is the reason why a lot of movies have never been able to reach the intended audience. Statistics have shown that movies winning awards also increases the audience count. As we know for the movie to be considered for awards many producers does a lot of lobbying too. Therefore it is neccessary for the production company to listen to the marketing departments and should come up with a plan on how to generate awareness among the movie-goers.

There has been examples where a good movie wasn't able to make much money due to lack of marketing. A classic case of this is the movie "Apocalypse Now". The movie didn't make much money and stopped running in theatres after few weeks. The production company later decided to re-release the movie but this time they decided to market the movie before releasing it. It went on to become a huge commercial success and even was voted by the audience as the "Greatest War Movie Ever Made in 20th Century".

Inspiration must be taken from these examples. Just because the production company is confident about the movie's quality does not guarantee that it would go on to become a commercial success. For it to become a commercial success, it should be able to reach the intended audience and that can only happen if the movie is marketed. In this fast paced world where people don't get time to sleep, it is imperative that the movie is marketed so that the people gets convinced that it is worth the time investing in watching the movie. This is only possible if the greater share of the movie budget is put in advertising the movie.