A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how those examples shape your position.

Education is considered as a backbone of the nation. It shapes future of the nation. It determines values that are being embedded in the youth that will help the nation to new heights. In the current scenario, there exist numerous curricula that students study before getting to college. These curricula differ in various aspects such as language, level of difficulty etc. The curriculum that a student has been part of plays a prominent role in his academic career in the college he/she has been admitted to. In my opinion, a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter the college. In the following paragraphs, I present some compelling arguments in order to bolster the stand taken.

Starting off with the reason that if the students come from different backgrounds and with different curriculum, they would have different level of familiarities with the concepts that they would be studying in the college. Some fortunate ones who have been studying in a better curriculum would have an unfair headstart. Thus, the remaining students will have a disadvantage which may lead to additional stress. As we already know that stress issues among college students is not rare, this additional stress only exacerbates the situation.

Moving on, in a country like India where multiple cultures, languages exists, it becomes a conundrum to deal with students who have studied the curriculum where the subjects were taught in a different language. It becomes dificult for both the college and student to cope up with the situation.

Although, to manage a unified curriculum in vast country does not seem docile. In current situation the state government handles the situation with local curriculum and there exist a central body for a different large scale curriculum. If a unified curriculum is introduced it becomes difficult for central government to manage the scenario.

To sum up, I would like to assert that it will be beneficial to devise a unified curriculum for the nation, however, a well managed system should be planned to manage the new unified curriculum.