A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

One of the main tasks of a country to provide their young generations with an education system. Sometimes it is recommended that a country should implement the same curriculum until college for all of its citizens. This may seem easier for any country since there will be no need to differentiate the subjects students will learn and to open up separate schools with different curricula. However, from my point of view, this may be harmful in the end since each student have interest in different subjects, they all have different abilities and lastly this may result in a lack of creativity among students.

First of all, not all students are interested in the same subjects. Some students like to think about abstract mathematical problems whereas others may prefer to enrich their knowledge about history. For example, if a nation uses a curriculum without any physical education courses, many students who has interest in sports such as basketball cannot find a chance to develop their abilities in that field until college and after the high school, it may be too late for them.

Furthermore, the second vital point that should be taken into account is that people have different abilities and not everyone is gifted in the same field. A person who will become a carpenter, would have to take same courses with everyone else in the country if one curriculum for all is adopted. Thus, if this person takes a course in which he is not very successful at, this may result in a low self-esteem for that person.

Lastly, while students are educated using a unique curriculum, they may not find a chance to discover the creativity in themselves. Since they only learn the topics from one perspective, they may not be able to create their own ideas and further develop them.

To sum up, the claim that a unique curriculum for all citizens should be adopted for a country may not be valid due to aforementioned reasons. In Maslow's pyramid of hierarchies, the highest step is to realize oneself and in the same curriculum for everyone case, the nation would not permit its citizens to reach this step.