“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a memorandum, the manager of a television station decided on decreasing the amount of time of the programs about weather and local news with the purpose of increasing the number of viewers and advertisement revenues of the station. This manager's argument does not make a cogent case since the reasons of cancellations of contracts are not clear, only the local businesses that used to advertise during late-night news program but not others canceled the advertising contracts and they do not know why viewers are complaining about weather and local news programs.

First of all, the reason why the local businesses cancel the advertising contracts may not be related to the fact that coverage of the stations about local news is decreased. This may be caused due to the increased advertisement prices demanded by television stations. Therefore, local businesses search for other channels of advertisement. In that case, the station may rather decrease the prices. Furthermore, local businesses may find out that their customers make their purchase decisions after visiting the store instead of watching advertisements on television.

Secondly, the local businesses that cancel their contracts are those with advertisements during late-night news program. This may be caused by the changes in the late-night news, for example, the anchorman may be replaced with someone who has a bad reputation. Thus, business manager would better search for the problems in the late-night news program before reaching such a huge decision.

Moreover, viewers may complain about the stations's coverage of weather of local news due to the quality of the programs, not because of their intensity. The manager of the television station may form a team to work on improving the quality of these programs in order to attract more viewers.

The manager argues that to increase profits and the number of viewers of the television stations, they should devote more time to weather and local news. However, this argument is rife with holes and assumptions and thus, not strong enough to lead to this conclusion.