"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of a movie production company called Super-Screen is concerned with the decrease in the number of viewers and suggests devoting a higher share of budget to advertisement department to overcome this problem. Although his strategy may be successful, there are holes in his argument, some of which will be discussed below.

First, the manager should conduct a research to understand the reason behind the decrease in the number of viewers of Super Screen-produced movies. It may be caused by the emergence of Internet platforms such as Netflix; so that industry dynamics could have been changed. Perhaps, people prefer to watch movies at their homes. In that case, in lieu of allocating a higher budget for advertising, the company may consider broadcasting in other channels such as Internet as a new strategy.

Secondly, director claims that the contents of the review are not reaching to potential viewers but it is not clear. To understand this, the manager should learn the channel via which people learn about new movies before deciding on watching them or not. If they learn from newspapers and the number of readers is decreased, they may just switch to other platforms such as websites. So, the only thing they need to do is just changing where they spend money instead of squandering more money on old mediums.

Additionally, the only data we have is the increase in the percentage of the positive reviews, however, we do not know the change in the total number. The critiques who do not like the movies may prefer not to write a commentary instead of publishing negative opinions and put their effort to examining other movies. As a result, the whole number of reviews may have decreased and the reason behind the increased percentage can be the effect of decreased number of negative comments. Thus, the company should work on to improve the overall quality of films, maybe employing stars, or working with famous directors who won prizes.

The manager of the Super Screen Movie Production company is considering an increase in the advertisement budget to overcome the problem of decreased number of viewers. However, due to aforementioned reasons, his strategy may not be successful. Though a higher effort in advertisement may be conducive to the company, they need to better understand the reasons behind the problem and put some effort to better understand the industry dynamics in general.